See this image larger
Graduation, June 2006. At my highest weight - 207 lbs. (The cape doesn't help... ;-)

See this image larger
Party Dress! January 29th, 2011

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Jump Rope

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with DAINALYNN
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

For a long time I allowed my weight to limit me. As it turns out, I was more limited by my fears. With the help of Sparkpeople, I''ve lost a total 55lbs by committing to healthier eating, more activity and reasonable portions. I''ve been maintaining these habits (and the weight loss) since approx. January 2010. A scary "pre-cancer" diagnosis (summer 2010) helped put some things into perspective - namely, my health is pinnacle to me. I feel so lucky to have started this journey before my health came into question. I know I am more equipped to deal with life''s hurdles because of what I''ve learned over the past 2 years. Despite the changes I''ve made, I continue the battle with self doubt, a tough inner critic and an occasional bout of pessimism. These might always be part of who I am but I strive to not let them define me, my choices and how I see myself. I aim to keep redefining myself. Rather than having an exact weight goal, I have a preferred healthy range. My "program" is to maintain my activity levels (mostly running) and nutrition to remain within that range. I feel happier when I am active, challenged and engaged in my life -- not when the scale tells me so. Height: 5''8" Highest Weight: 207 Ideal Weight: 145 Currently: 155

Member Since: 4/6/2007

Fitness Minutes: 34,718

My Goals:
* Nutrition Calculator tracking - 4 days /week

* Limit meat-based dinners to 3 per week

* Track all cardio with the Fitness Tracker

* Strength training or yoga 2-3 times per week & running when it feels right

* Motivate others to live more healthful & happy lives

My Program:

*A balanced breakfast. Every day.

* Monitor portions

* My diet is based on vegetables, fruit, whole grains, beans & legumes & some dairy

* Lindt Dark chocolate as needed

* No food is off limits -- except the ones I don't like

* consistent strength training by taking 2 classes a week (or equivalent)

* yoga - one short session / week

* running/cardio - when I need a good run, no pressure here

Daily lifestyle habits: * taking the stairs
* making my lunch for work (at least 4/week)
* homemade dinners (at least 6/week)
* big batch cooking (one soup or stew /wknd)

Personal Information:
I am 32 years old and am MUCH more healthy, content and lively than I was as a teenager. Healthy eating and activity is key to my success. Balance is what I strive for.

My journey began with a BIGGEST LOSER competition in March '09 and my goals were modest. Sparkpeople kept me motivated to reach those goals and to keep going.

Other Information:
Consistency is my key to success, but Sparkpeople is my "not-so-secret" weapon!

Read More About DAINALYNN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 19)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 150.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (21):  123Next >Last >>