60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 62,964
See this image larger
My first 10K race! 2/24/13

See this image larger
Poppies in my neighborhood! Looks like they will fade soon... April 2016

See this image larger

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Workout Clothes
go to goodies page

Interact with DAWNGW
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I just turned 50 in 2018. It's important to me to look at 50 as "the half-way point" and be healthy into my golden years. I would love to have a toned body and to be in the best shape of my life, continuing onward. My goal right now is not only weight loss, but to keep maintaining this as a lifestyle.

I fractured my ankle Nov. 2010, and learned during the time I was in crutches that I previously took walking/running and fitness for granted. I now have a new outlook on life.

I love the outdoors. I don't want to ever stop getting outside on my two feet and want to keep enjoying the scenery.

I love to hike, bike, swim and run when I get the chance to. I also enjoy strength training.

I still tend to indulge a bit with my portions so I'm working on that. I also love wine (and beer and cocktails), so I have to be mindful of how it affects my health and weight loss, and keep it to a minimum. But I only eat healthy, mostly home-cooked meals because I love it and don't really enjoy processed/packaged food or sweets anymore. So at least I'm on the right track with that!

Everything is a work in progress!! And I believe I will reach my goals eventually. I'm feeling great, getting stronger too, and that's the most important thing.

Member Since: 6/1/2010

Fitness Minutes: 118,539

My Goals:
Being physically strong and toned.

Having lots of fun while exercising and eating well.

Go down 4-5 dress sizes. Be able to wear cute clothes again! Ultimate goal: wearing a bikini on the beach and feeling great about it!!

My Program:
Doing fun activities like hiking in the local hills, bicycling, running, swimming, hilly neighborhood walks. Using my home weight-training equipment 4-5 days/week.

Being mindful of what I eat (portion size, learning to eat slower, paying attention to balancing meals) every day.

Personal Information:
Born and raised in Southern California.
Happily married, no children.
I work in the movie industry as a digital artist. My work hours tend to be very long, so it's a challenge for me to stay consistent with working out. I'm always looking for ways to squeeze that in, without sacrificing precious time to sleep.

Other Information:

Read More About DAWNGW - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 13)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 2.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Today is cloudy, but should be dry. Tomorrow another storm will pass through. I will try and work more with my potted plants today if they aren't too soggy lol. Or at least mentally come up with a design for the front yard plant wise. Keep your rain boots handy! emoticon
    423 days ago
    Hi there,

    I have added you as a friend from the CrossFit team, I have started doing Keto as well. Please stop by my page.

    Thanks, and have a great weekend.

    Josee emoticon emoticon emoticon
    667 days ago
    We took a drive the other day, and didn't see any flowers popping up. I wonder if they were talking about small little sprouts lol. Ready for the rain? emoticon
    it's a light rain here now.
    1137 days ago

    Comment edited on: 2/16/2017 8:32:06 PM
    I read where the lower desert had a few flowers, or foliage, starting to pop up as well. 2015 we had a lot of wildflowers. Plenty in Quartz Hills. That's where I took the pictures of Sarge and Alice. I have a blog about it, but you would have to do some searching lol.
    1145 days ago
    I can't wait for the wildflowers to bloom. I bet they will be pretty this year! emoticon
    1145 days ago
Member Comments (63):  123Next >Last >>