See this image larger
Me in my new 'do' - 10/26/08

See this image larger
Me - BEFORE - at Christmastime '07, at my heaviest - 332 pounds, at least!

See this image larger
That's me - BEFORE - on the left - with a good scrappin' buddy - Fall of -07. By 1/1/08, added 15#.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with DCWALK2008
Add as SparkFriend Leave Comment

Made a commitment to change in 2008 and asked God for help - first time I've ever been able to stick to it!

Started making changes in how I eat, move and think about my health. I'm no longer a victim of my body size or ability -- I'm a VICTOR! I'm taking charge of my body, mind and spirit and with God's direction and strength through prayer, I'm changing my future and the future of my family by getting healthier and happier.

My wardrobe favorites are now workout clothes - not sweats, but real workout clothes. And I've changed my hairstyle, too, as a reflection of this new athletic lifestyle I have. I'm LOVING IT!

Member Since: 9/25/2008

Fitness Minutes: 9,037

My Goals:
To be able to run and play with my kids.

To be comfortable being naked in front of my wonderful husband.

To foster a love for the physical in my kids -- get them moving, too.

To get my emotional eating under control.

To lose enough weight, safely through diet and exercise, to be a healthy BMI, thereby reducing my risks of catastrophic health issues.

To together, with my husband (who's losing along my side), change our family's future by being a positive role model for health, well-being and happiness.

My Program:
I've learned to cut portions and saturated fats, processed foods, and "bad" carbs. Instead, trading in leaner meats, healthy OMEGA 3 oils and fresh fruits and veggies. I walk daily, a minimum of 2 miles either outside, on the treadmill, or with a Walk at Home DVD, and am adding strength training with resistance bands and hand weights.

Personal Information:
I live in a quiet little town in southeastern Pennsylvania with my husband of 12 years, 16 year old daughter, 10 year old son and 6 year old daughter. Our oldest son, 21, is away for his senior year in college.

Other Information:
I enjoy scrapbooking, crafting and home improvements, but have put those hobbies on the back burner to afford the time I need to remain dedicated to exercise.

I still get the occasional late night scrap session with my friends, but we're all eating healthier snacks now!

Read More About DCWALK2008 - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 261.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hey DC remember me? I haven't been on Spark for quite sometime. Alot of personal ups and downs on my end...but I need to get back in gear. I need someone who can motivate me as well as someone whom needs to be motivated. So if your interested I would love to have you as a buddy. Let me know what you think...oh and keep up the good work. You are doing great!

    4025 days ago
  • v JUST-AMY
    I see you are kickin' it up a notch again. Yay YOU! I'll try and catch that spark. You go, girl! This is tough, isn't it. Not just a walk in the park.....Well, let's fake it and make it look easy! LOL....let's fool people!
    4027 days ago
  • v JUST-AMY
    I finally posted my new haircut pic. Well, it took me a month, didn't it, but I got Ken to take one today. You had really inspired me to cut it off!
    4050 days ago
  • v JUST-AMY
    Yay for YOU! Keep up the good work, girl!
    4056 days ago
  • v ROCKMJ79
    Hope you have a great week - Mine started out great - down in pounds according to my Wii Fit
    Looke at the overall weight loss - what an accomplishment
    Keep up the great work
    4063 days ago
Member Comments (42):  123Next >Last >>