HIPPICHICK1
250,000-299,999 SparkPoints 296,594
SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger



See this image larger



See this image larger
Me and JF at The Gathering in Burlington, NFLD.


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Confetti
From:
-POOKIE-
go to goodies page
Vacation
From:
MEADSBAY
go to goodies page
Gold Trophy
From:
JIBBIE49
Awards

HIPPICHICK1 is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
 
Interact with HIPPICHICK1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I joined Spark in 2008 and I have changed my life tremendously, a little bit at a time.

I live in a cottage on a lake in rural Quebec and have a small pottery shop. I'm a clay artist and pottery teacher.

About 20 years ago I decided to change careers. Prior to becoming a clay artist I was a professional musician and songwriter. I have also dabbled in dance. I started to learn Egyptian style Raks Sharki, otherwise known as belly dance, when I was about 40. I taught dance for nearly 10 years and although I had a really great time learning the dance and teaching it too, dance for me now is mostly a great way to get happy (you can not dance and be sad. Impossible! Try it.) and it's a really good cardio workout!

Making pottery is my only job now. It never really feels like a job because it's so much fun! It's good to focus on my art. I very much enjoy making functional things like mugs, bowls, pitchers, plates and teapots.

I have played guitar since I was a kid and singing came naturally to me. I enjoy performing and get out weekly to an open mic or jam session. I am thrilled to spend time with other musicians. I have a new musical project starting up and I'm excited to be working with another person in music. It's deeply satisfying to co-create.

Since coming to Spark I have been quite successful with weight loss and maintenance. Over the past few years, I realize that maybe I have relaxed quite a bit and have gained a few pounds, but it's okay. I am where I am, and I aim to do something about it.

I really enjoy getting outside daily, no matter what the weather, and breathing in the fresh air of the forest. In the summer time I enjoy swimming, and in all seasons I walk for my cardio exercise. I enjoy a good challenging hike too and I'm always up for some kind of activity that keeps me moving and engaged in the present.

I practice yoga almost daily and I have a few perennial garden beds full of flowers and herbs that keep my busy from spring through fall. I bake my own bread. I cook from scratch and often batch cook to save time.

Like many, I have lost and gained, lost and gained. I didn't take my weight seriously until about 1994. I was 33 years old and probably weighed in at around 300 lbs. From '94 thru '97 I dropped in dress size from a 26 to an 18.

In 2002, I moved from Manitoba, to Quebec. That presented new challenges and had a huge impact on my weight loss journey. I gained a lot of weight and then set about to lose it when I discovered a small gym in the town nearby in 2006.

I found Spark in 2008 and joined right away. I started using the tools here like the Nutrition Tracker and Fitness Tracker, and immediately saw where I could improve. After just one week on Spark I'd gone from 260 lbs to 257 lbs. I'd lost 3 lbs. It was so inspiring! I just kept going with the flow. In 2010 or so I hit 165 lbs and maintained for quite a few years.

I am re-working my goals to further change my life. As I look towards my future, my 60's are not far away. I intend for my golden years to indeed be golden! Being fit, slender, healthy and happy are the kind of golden years I am expecting as I ramp up my fitness and focus on eating well.


Member Since: 7/22/2008

Fitness Minutes: 234,752

My Goals:
My goals are to be as healthy as I can be, enjoy life to the fullest and help people along the way.


My Program:
Weekly weigh-ins to check progress

Being active on most days walking, strength training and my yoga practice.

I have DETERMINATION to be healthy, happy, flexible and live pain free.



Personal Information:
Weight my first day on Spark - 260 lbs.

Starting Measurements:
Neck 16.5
Bust 46.5
Under bust 40
Waist 46.5
Hips 53.5

Apr. 6/16
Weight - 167
Neck 13.5
Bust 39.5
Under bust 33
Waist 36
Hips 43


Other Information:




Read More About HIPPICHICK1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 4)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 current weight: 182.0 
182
174
166
158
150
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (6062):  123Next >Last >>