IOWAGRAMMA
 
Photos
See this image larger
Granddaughter's wedding in Hawaii, January 2013. DIL and Son on right.



See this image larger
Visit to the alpaca farm...we were all enchanted with these lovely creatures!



See this image larger
Isaac, 10, and Ian, 7, taken Easter 2013


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Flowers
From:
Over 60 With 10...
go to goodies page
Welcome Back
From:
PATRICIA-CR
go to goodies page
Confetti
From:
MONIBELLY
Awards

IOWAGRAMMA is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
 
Interact with IOWAGRAMMA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm 70+ and live in the Midwest. We recently moved to a retirment community where we have a wonderful apartment, new friends and plenty of activities. Unfortunately, a new challenge is the fact that we have ample opportunities to eat at each of those activities. It is putting my commitment to the test! We have 3 living children, 2 DILs, 2 DGSs, ages 16 and 13, and a grown DGD who is mommy to our great-grandchildren, 2 girls and a boy!! Being overweight has been a problem for me since my last pregnancy well over 40 years ago! I've probably lost 750 pounds in my life, only to put it all back on time and time again. I also have osteoarthritis and hauling all this weight around is not good for that. So, in the interest of preserving my replaced hips, enjoying life, and above all, being healthier, I'm working on improving my general health and becoming more active--would love to keep up with the younger generation for a very long time! SparkPeople is giving me that chance!

Member Since: 4/13/2007

Fitness Minutes: 64,340

My Goals:
My overall goals are simple. I want to lead a healthier lifestyle that helps me to have the energy and enthusiasm to be active and happy. In order to do this, I will take off the excess pounds by eating healthier and exercising.


My Program:
My program is also simple:
1. I will follow the WW Freestyle program is best as possible.
2. I will eat at least 5-7 freggies each day.
3. I will eat 3+ protein servings daily, including at least two dairy.
4. The remainder of my calories will come in the form of carbs.
5. I will include strength and stretching exercises in my daily routine.
6. I will participate in the Silver Sneakers and water exercise programs at the Y 3-5 times each week.
7. I will continue to exercise a minimum of 10 min/day on days with no scheduled activities.
8. I will weigh in weekly and actively participate in the 5% Spring Challenge, as well as my team activities.



Personal Information:


Other Information:
I love to read, do genealogy, work on jigsaw puzzles, and spend as much family time as possible with our grandsons and greats. Notice I do not include exercise in my "loves," but I do make myself work on fitness, with that as the over-riding goal: fitness.




Read More About IOWAGRAMMA - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 18)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 220.0 
274.6
248.45
222.3
196.15
170
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v ESILBO
    JUST WANT TO SAY HI...LISE
    3247 days ago
  • v TUBLADY
    Thanks for the blog read.
    I am glad my fingers are healing. Better it was me, rather than Titan, he could have been hurt a lot more. Plus I have insurance, Titan would have cost hundreds to fix up if I was lucky. I would just die if anything happen to that little guy,
    BF(Jim) and I are going to white water raft on the Rouge River.
    It might be better to wait till I am completely healed from knee surgery.
    With my other replacement I was healed in one month. Complete range of motion, everything. Hope the next one is the same.
    Take care
    Tisha emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon
    3248 days ago
  • v MIDNITE_LADY
    Hi Thanks for adding me to friends wishing you great success I added you to mine Hugs Bobie
    3249 days ago
  • v HAWAIITOES
    I DO remember you. I'm guessing that you aren't on the "over 60" message board anymore either. I've found a small group that works pretty well for me, but not losing weight at any alarming rate!!! Oh, well. We've finally become grandparents this past year and that's sure fun. 2 granddaughters, 4 mos. apart. Charlotte Rae is 9 mos. old and lives in New Mexico(we're leaving the22 to visit.......3rd time since she was born!!) and Claire Alexandra, 5 mos. old today. And she lives in Seattle near enough that we take care of her once in a while. Our son (Claire's dad) is over the moon and our daughter, Charlotte''s mom is loving motherhood.
    We've had rotten summer weather while the rest of the country boils. Hope you've survived. So fun to hear from you.
    Jan
    3251 days ago
  • v BARCLE
    Hi and welcome to the Aspire & Inspire team emoticon Have a super day emoticon
    3251 days ago