80,000-99,999 SparkPoints 88,188
See this image larger
My little dog, Idget

See this image larger
My big dog, Kyleigh

See this image larger
Galen and I in new house

go to goodies page
Two Thumbs Up
The Awesome A T...
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Picnic Basket

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with JDOWM62
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Update: January 1, 2018

(Then, Jan 23rd, 2017) Having lost my mom on December 23rd, 2016, I am more determined than ever to lose this weight! She was always worried about my weight, while I worried that she had lost so much so fast and wouldn't quit smoking. Her wrists were only about 4 inches in diameter at the end. So, while she never did quit smoking (I quit 8 years ago) and the doctors never did figure out the cause of her weight loss and constant pain (a problem I have also with doctors), I will honor her wishes and do my best to drop to 200 lbs (-62.8) by the first anniversary of her death. Then, knowing I CAN do this, drop to 140 (-60) by the 2nd anniversary.

(Now, Jan 1, 2018) Instead of losing the 63 lbs, I gained 26 and am now the heaviest I have ever been. Enough already!! So, I am back with my tail between my legs, begging forgiveness for my rude exit and more determined to beat this! I joined the 5% challenge again, as well as 3 others on other sites. I even joined HealthyWage.com and put a bet of $10 a month on myself to lose 70 lbs in 12 months. If I succeed, they will pay me $644, a profit of $524!! Yay!!

Julie is my first name. My handle is a combination of every initial I have had with my birth year tagged on the end - 3 last names due to 2 marriages.

What do you like to do for fun? Play free games (majhongg, slots, solitaire, and bingo) on the computer, travel, go camping, shop at farmer's/flea markets

I am not on a particular diet. I try to do lots of veggies (hard when no one else wants them), fruits, chicken, fish, and whole grain pastas and bread when I indulge, which is rare. I'm lactose intolerant and just discovered that Breyers has a lactose-free vanilla ice cream, so I allow myself a little of an evening topped with frozen fruit. One of the challenges I joined is to cook all three meals at home in the month of January, with only 3 meals off to give me a chance to get out of the house with DH.

To recharge, I like nothing better than to go camping in mountains/forests in a tent. I am also an avid music lover and am a volunteer treasurer at a concert association, which gives me the opportunity to go to lots of concerts.

I am a QuickBooks Online Pro Advisor, looking to get certified in all the desktop versions as well. My start-up business is bookkeeping and financial technology consultant. I hope to have enough clients to hire some staff and get a real office soon.

Member Since: 12/30/2008

Fitness Minutes: 59,824

My Goals:
Eat healthy and exercise most days of the week

Do less eating out (cook more)

Maintain a positive outlook, even on bad days

Get my work done on time.

My Program:
Do 5-10 minute workouts 2 or 3 times a day, both strength and cardio

Practice positive self-talk & meditate once a day.

Eat healthier convenience foods, like Lean Cuisine and Healthy Choice.

Eat out less often.

Personal Information:
I grew up in Kingman, Arizona and moved to Las Cruces, New Mexico with my second husband, Galen. I have three boys from my first marriage, all grown. I am currently working 3 jobs as a bookkeeper/treasurer, building a start-up business called Julie's Quality Data Services, and plan to get my EA and bookkeeping certification, having graduated with a bachelor in Accountancy.

Other Information:

Read More About JDOWM62 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 7)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 284.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (319):  123Next >Last >>