See this image larger
My sister, 11/2002

See this image larger
My boys, 6/2005

go to goodies page
Digital Camera
go to goodies page
Dark Chocolate

Interact with LAURSIE33
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I developed asthma in the early 1980s and when I quit smoking in 1988, my metabolism stopped working. I gained 60 pounds in 3 months and by the end of a year, I gained over 100 pounds although I did not change my eating habits or change my exercise routine.

I started smoking again 3 years later, (which was really stupid since I had asthma) and lost about 70 of the 100+ pounds I had gained--all without changing my eating/exercising habits.

I quit smoking again in 2000, but this time I worked with a dietitian and a nutritionist and worked out 7 days a week (I swam 1-2 miles every day and weight-trained with a personal trainer 3 times a week) for an entire year. I still gained about 60 pounds in the first year.

Since then, my weight has been creeping up to my current weight both because of medications I need to take periodically (steroids) and because I do not exercise as much any more--I have several medical conditions which make even walking painful (and I developed an allergy to chlorine, so doing anything in a pool is also out).

Over the last 5 years, I have tried other programs--E-Diets, Diet Watch, Weight Watchers, South Beach, etc.--all without success which was very discouraging.

I am hoping that I will have success with SparkPeople. No one in my family is overweight except me, so I need the support of others who can relate to weight problems along with getting ideas for exercise that my limited mobility will allow.

Member Since: 10/20/2006

Fitness Minutes: 0

My Goals:
Do weight in 10% intervals, then re-evaluate.

Started at 260--10% is 26 lbs.
Goal weight is 234

My Program:
Exercise as much as asthma will allow

Use the tracker daily to keep within calorie range

Personal Information:
Widow with 2 adult sons.

Lived in MI all my life; retired June, 2004 after 34 years of teaching and bought a condo in FL; now commute between MI and FL

Am 58 (physically sometimes feel like 90, but mentally feel like 20)

Other Information:
I love:

Traveling (Italy is my favorite place to be and cruising is my favorite form of travel)

Reading (mostly fantasy and mysteries)

Computer games (especially at and

Board and card games (Mahjong, tripoly, pinochle, and canasta)

Cooking from scratch (never had time for it before)

Read More About LAURSIE33 - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 7.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (22):  123Next >Last >>