MOLLIEMAC
100,000-149,999 SparkPoints 131,686
SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
celebrates sunset by the ocean.



See this image larger
is seeing more signs of autumn.



See this image larger
Is ever impressed by natural beauty.


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Fruit Salad
From:
Forks Over Kniv...
go to goodies page
Dumbbells
From:
LOWFATVEGAN
go to goodies page
Flowers
From:
JEANKNEE
Awards

MOLLIEMAC is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with MOLLIEMAC
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


May 11, 2019

Originally a Spark member since 2006 I rejoined Spark July 1, 2017 after being away for six years.

In those six years I experienced many firsts: a hip replacement which has been a 100% success and game changer, another grandchild (a very dynamic girl), a new house and neighbourhood, the graduation of my daughter from eleven years of veterinary studies, adoption of a plant based diet and sadly the death of my husband.

I have now been following a vegan diet for over a year; feel well, energetic and now weigh 120 lbs (+ or - 2). Besides maintaining a one acre property by myself I walk an average of 50 miles per week, lift weights, adhere to a core program with stretching and balance work for strength training. My exercise goal is 120+ minutes daily.

GOALS:
Short term: increase amount of weight lifted (2-3X weekly)
Intermediate: walk at least 3000 miles in 2019, as of Sept. 15 at 2260 miles
Long term: plan hiking trip for 2020 and continue downsizing for eventual move to a smaller living situation.


Member Since: 10/7/2006

Fitness Minutes: 203,004

My Goals:
-to maintain my goal weight
-challenge my body and mind daily to keep both engaged and healthy
-to share ideas and support with other SP members

Update, September 1, 2019:
-walking goal for 2019 increased to 3000+ miles, with 17+ weeks remaining that equates to 50 miles a week, totally doable
-ST every third day for one hour with combined weight lifting and core work, daily 40 minutes of ROM exercise and balance work, daily walks of at least 12km (7.2 miles)


My Program:
-weight training 2- 3X weekly, upper and lower body with intensive core work
WALK, WALK AND MORE WALKING DAILY
-total plant based diet
-daily reading and gardening year round
--active exploration of my community, province, country



Personal Information:
I'm a farm kid from Alberta, lived in Ontario for 25 years and have now settled in the Gaspereau Valley of Nova Scotia. I have two adult children and two grandchildren. A cat and a rescue pooch keep me company.


Other Information:
I love to garden. Crosswords and reading keep me busy when the snow flies. Cooking is also a delight- I'm always looking for new ideas for vegan meals. I am passionate about diet and exercise and firmly believe that we do have the power to keep ourselves healthy by eating well and being active.




Read More About MOLLIEMAC - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 16)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 June Minutes: 480
0
30
60
90
120
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v KATIE3908
    Congratulations on one year of maintenance!

    emoticon emoticon
    1 day ago
  • v WATERMELLEN
    That song is one I know and find unbearable to listen to . . . it's discouraging how little has changed!

    Hope you are enjoying this "hallway" period between old life and new!
    1 day ago
  • v MARTHA324
    Must be a weird feeing to be "homeless." I was "homeless" for about 4 hours back in 1998 when I sold my co-op in the morning and didn't purchase the new one until that afternoon. When do you move to your new place?

    After much back and forth we finally got a closing statement on a home equity line we had on the lake house so our lawyer can send us a check for an amount that was still held in escrow to satisfy that loan. At the end Andrea found her original and the bank had finally filed the paperwork to close that loan. Sheesh!

    Cheers to all today even in the midst of all the turmoil going on in our country. We will overcome.

    1 day ago
  • v LOWFATVEGAN
    Oh that's so cool! I'm glad that you're doing so well and that you're into weight training. I've been easing into it starting with 5 ounce cans of tuna and am up to 14 ounce cans of beans now LOL. My actual weights start at 1.5 pounds so I'm only using my good arm with those and still using the cans on the other side for the rest of the month or at least for the next few weeks. My goal is to build more muscles, the fractured arm is noticeably smaller/wasted still. Do your arms look symmetrical now? emoticon goal is to be able to do that! :)
    1 day ago
  • v LOWFATVEGAN
    I'm so sorry to hear about your shoulder injury and especially that it's still an issue at 5 years out. My doc said that it's a very hard injury to come back from. Some days I wish that I'd just done the total shoulder replacement but since the device suitable only allowed a maximum of 80% ROM I opted for this slow and painful 'natural' recovery process hoping for 100% or at least more than 80% ROM. Do you still visit PT or are you all on your own now? I hope that it continues to get better and better. Thank you so much for your comments on my blog - it really helps to be here because of people like you MollieMac! Thank you. emoticon
    2 days ago
Member Comments (1335):  123Next >Last >>