Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with SUPERCRAFTY
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I am a 20 year vegetarian who had depended heavily on carbs to substitute meat. When I was younger, I could burn them off, but after having my son at 35 and then again after turning 40, I was gaining weight at the rate of 10 lbs a year. I am convinced that long hours sitting at a computer for work have deteriorated my health and I want to counteract the damage I did working long hours in my 20s and 30s. To complicate things, I have a herniated disk in my low back, and gaining weight has aggravated that problem. I have felt terrible - sluggish, cranky, and enduring near constant pain for years. It's been an unhealthy cycle I would like to break.

Sending my son off to first grade and cutting my work hours back to PT, I decided it was the perfect time to put myself first. I knew I had to change my lifestyle to include more exercise and consuming less sugar and fewer/no wheat-based carbs. So far, Sparkpeople has been a great help.

I tend to be a bit of an introvert, so sharing this much information is risky for my comfort level. I realize I cannot do this alone and appreciate and will reciprocate any support I can get from this community.

Member Since: 11/15/2009

My Goals:
I would like to fit into my size 10 jeans again, and wear styles that I cannot now, because they are more flattering on a thinner frame. I would like to make myself a priority again. I want to strengthen my core so my back doesn't always hurt. I want to make exercise a habit and necessary part of my life.

My Program:
I am a 20 year vegetarian. No caffeine for 8 years, no artificial sweeteners or diet soda for 4 years. No bread/wheat and very little sugar since 8/13. I need to define my sugar goal more specifically. Sugar is my crack. I eat/cook very healthfully with mostly organic foods, lots of fruit and vegetables. Rarely a processed food, artificial color or flavor can be found in our kitchen.

Personal Information:
I live in Pennsylvania. I am a market researcher by trade. I like to knit, sew, read, swim, garden, do yoga, spend time outside, and take walks/hikes in the woods.

Other Information:

Read More About SUPERCRAFTY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes

This user doesn't have any links to SparkFriends.

My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 14.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • This user doesn't have any comments.