60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 71,279
See this image larger
My BFF (L) and me (R) on her birthday (206#, down 60#) :-)

See this image larger
Time lapse, photo #1... 266#; my goal is to ditch 100#

See this image larger
-97#; almost there!

go to goodies page
Fruit Basket
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Gold Medal

TIFFFIT is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with TIFFFIT
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Spoiler alert: the following is from way back when I was successful. I'm not taking it down. I'm going to use it to get me back to my best self. I DID IT, and I CAN DO IT AGAIN.

In the spring of 2014 I created a new user name and a new Spark People account; I started over with the goal of getting healthier and more fit. I've been on a couple of "successful" diets before (losing 65 and later 40 pounds) but haven't been able to keep it off. I'm not "dieting" this time; I AM tracking my food and making more healthful choices. I'm making slower, smaller changes with the intent to keep it off, and it really does feel very different this time around. I am also fortunate to have a WONDERFUL OB/Gyn who's following my progress; I couldn't wish for a better mentor for accountability and non-judgmental goal setting.
It is NEVER too late for a Do-Over!!! I was living proof, and will be again!

Member Since: 1/2/2014

Fitness Minutes: 23,382

My Goals:
Ultimately I'd like to lose about 100 lbs [DONE once, but working on it again...], but my goal right now (was) to go from 266 to 250 per my OB/Gyn. [edit: done, and I haven't gone back up to 250. I hope I NEVER do; next goal for 2019: 229]
I want to be healthier [I AM], to fit comfortably into seats in theaters, roller coasters and airplanes [I CAN, sorta], and never have to worry that I'll need a seat belt extender [I WON'T]. I want to shop for clothing in the Ladies' section [I DO, kinda]. I want to order clothes and bathing suits online [OK, so not bathing suits...]. I want to participate in things WITH my family, not near them. I want to make my family proud.

My Program:
This is important: **I eat whatever I want, I just budget the quantity and calories.**
I track all of my foods while allowing myself occasional off-plan indulgences. We plan ahead and shop ahead whenever possible.
I target total calories over everything else, but try to stay balanced (50%Carb / 30%Fat / 20%Protein). I eat out a LOT but with planning I stay on track.
I go to the gym 4-5d/w for a short 30-min elliptical, rowing or treadmill workout and do 10 mins of strength work 2-3 d/w. I also hike, play racquetball and also dabble in other fun stuff.

Personal Information:
I'm from the Virginia Beach area currently living in Phoenix, AZ. I've been happily married for over 27 years and we have a wonderful, studious, articulate, polite, empathetic and all-around-terrific teenaged girl (yes, really!)
On 5/29/15 I reached my -90# goal AND was honored to be selected as a SparkPeople Motivator the same day. Thank you!!!
I've regained a huge portion of the weight I'd lost, so I'm really reaffirming myself to check off all those goals once more. Never give up, Never surrender.

Other Information:
My favorite quote has always been "Stupidity Should Be Painful", but I've coined a new one all my own to live by: "I can't get there from anywhere but here".
My newest one: "Failure is a bruise, not a tattoo." ~Timber Hawkeye (Buddhist Bootcamp)

Read More About TIFFFIT - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 9)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 239.6 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (120):  123Next >Last >>