250,000-299,999 SparkPoints 253,959
See this image larger

See this image larger
A description of me (A picture is worth a thousand words)

See this image larger
Baby pictures of our kids

go to goodies page
Measuring Cups
go to goodies page
Personal Dietitian
go to goodies page
Happy Face
2021 Summer 5% ...

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with CHRISBRYAN
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

52 year old electrician, love to travel, play golf, camp, but spend too many hours working.

Beginning at the first of the year; 2013, I made a commitment to myself to get my body back into shape. I was 239 pounds, had serious knee problems and no energy to do anything other than work; weekends were really boring sitting around being a couch potato. Final straw; a picture taken of me sitting on the beach in Tortola and I looked more like a beached whale than a happy tourist.

After knee surgery; Dec. 2012 and PT; walking everyday with my wife and using SP to monitor my calories and nutrition, changes began to happen, it made me really happy and more energetic. Then the magic really happened, SP became a everyday routine, new friends were made and challenges became reality. Walking turned into running three times a week (SparkPeople's 5K Your Way Rookie Running Program), weight challenges (2013 5% Challenge Community) and making friends on Spark Teams, I reached my weight goal in June of 2013. After reassessing my goal weight of 185 lbs, I decided that SP 's recommended weight for me of 177 lbs was not out of reach. Maintenance is now my goal and will stay with SP to help keep me true to my goals.

Update (Beautiful Butterflies 2013 Fall Challenge) Maintenance has been going pretty good up until about two weeks before the challenge where my weight has got up to about 183, so this challenge I will be participating in the weight loss percentage portion of the challenge. My running program has been going reall good and have surpassed the 10k mark twice; 09/23/13 - 6.67 miles & 09/30/13 - 8.38 miles. Would like to surpass the half marathon mark before the end of the year. The other thing that happened lately is that the third grandson was born 08/17/13; Marcelo

Member Since: 12/13/2007

Fitness Minutes: 361,700

My Goals:
My goal is to be around a long time for my family. Even though I'm in my mid forty's my wife and I are working on having a child together and I want to be around for them.

Now that I'm in my fifties and my wife and I never did have that child we were blessed with two beautiful grandsons and a third grandchild on the way. This gives me even more reasons to keep in shape so they all can depend on my being around.

I have lost over 40 lbs since I started back with SP and and lost 13.2 lbs with the 2013 Beautiful Butterflies, Winter into Spring Team. I look forward to loosing the same if not more in the next challenge: 2013 Beautiful Butterflies, Spring into Summer.

Lost over 60 lbs.and ready to begin maintenance with SP. I have created a streak of no sugared beverages in the year of 2013 and plan to stay with it, this includes artificial sweeteners which I can't stand. Have accepted the position of Motivation Leader for the B

My Program:
Though my job is extremely stressful and very physical my doctor said if you get paid for it, it doesn't count. So, here I am and plan to follow the SparkPeople program; create a new and healthier lifestyle. I guess it doesn't hurt to have a better looking physique living in south Florida.

Here I am back trying to get my weight and physical fitness back into shape. My doc still doesn't cut me any slack when it comes to exercise so now its time to get back at it. The pictures of me on the beach in Tortola may have looked a whole lot better had I maintained with Sparkpeople the first time around.

For the 5% Winter Commitments:

I will exercise daily for a minimum of 10 minutes.

I will follow my SP recommended diet, tracking all food eaten every day.

I will record my daily exercise minutes and points.

On Saturdays I will weigh in and record it. I will check in with my team daily and leave a comment on the Discussion Boa

Personal Information:
I was raised as an Air Force brat living from Hawaii to Germany and everywhere in between. In "76" my family moved to Colorado and did most of my high schooling and college. I had called that home until in "83" when I moved to live on the beaches in Florida. Florida is now called home.

Other Information:
There is nothing that means more to me than my wife, my daughter Virginia and my son (I miss you Sage)!

son-in-law (Ed)
grandsons (Luis, Antonio & Marcelo)

Read More About CHRISBRYAN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 230.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (279):  123Next >Last >>