See this image larger
One of our goldens in one of our gardens.

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Relaxation Music
go to goodies page
Mardi Gras Beads
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with KRICKETTWO
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

After being in Mom mode for the past 22 years, my youngest child has left for college. Both of our kids were very involved in their high school extra curriculars which kept us always moving.

While I am sad that this chapter in my life has come to a close, it is refreshing to know that I can devote time once again to becoming more healthy. I have always been able to remain active during the summer but fall always brought plenty to do and my exercise routines went to the wayside. Eating was also a challenge since we seemed to be continuously on the run.

Today, I am working to restore muscle and eat healthy enough for my body to release stored fat. This is a challenge for me and years and years of unhealthy dieting have taken a toll. I know that this process is going to take time and patience so for now, I need to focus on becoming more healthy. Hopefully, the weight will begin to come off as an added benefit!

Update: June 20, 2010 ~ It has been a year since I recommitted to Spark. And... for the most part I have been dedicated. My year and my commitment have been a bit complicated, however. In October, I came down with H1N1. Initially, it wasn't a whole lot worse than a bad flu. However, the difference lay in the fact that the effects lingered. It was nearly December when I finally felt like me again. The fatigue was incredible. In spite of this, I ran 4 miles every other day and walked 4 on the off days. I lost 13 pounds and definitely toned up.

One week before Christmas, after cleaning house and wrapping gifts in preparation for the kids to arrive from college, my husband and I excitedly embarked on a cross country ski trip. I finally owned a pair of skis. In fact, we bought them for the whole family and were excited to ski together as a family Christmas activity. Two hours later, my DH helped me to the car. I hoped for a sprain but 4 days later I learned the wrist was broken.... badly. We set it on the 22nd of December. On the 4th of January we learned the bone had slipped with the swelling. January 7th I had surgery and woke up with hardware.... lots of it.

The next two months were spent recovering and healing. I began walking again on January 25th and walked 4 miles on the average of three times a week. My walking partner and I enjoyed many beautiful, snowy walks near the frozen lake. There was an incredible amount of snow but it was undoubtedly the most beautiful winter I have ever experienced..... in spite of the subzero temps and walking in a cast. The toughest part was having metal in my arm that got cold and caused me to ache. I learned to wear hand warmers in my gloves to keep the metal warm. My weight has hung pretty steady with slight gains.

Frustration takes over at times with this slow progress but I am so much stronger than a year ago. I make great food choices and I am physically able to do far more. Today, I walk 5 miles 5-6 days a week and I do strength training yoga every other day. On my off days, I do light weight lifting and qi gong. I am doing 25 push-ups on the healing wrist and side planks. My Dr. wasn't sure I would even recover my range of motion so I am proud to have gained back full use and more.

Though I have not reached the goals I set a year ago in terms of weight, I HAVE reached others I didn't even anticipate. I am thankful for the Sparksupport that has kept me in the ring.

And so.... here I am. Ready for another year.

Member Since: 8/10/2007

Fitness Minutes: 20,095

My Goals:
My main goal is to be healthy and fit. I will be 45 very soon and both of my parents are gone. Both passed away early from obesity related problems. They were so sad in their later years and unable to live life to the fullest. It would be great to also lose about 40 pounds.

My Program:
I have never run in my life until lately and I have learned that I enjoy chi running (sort of) 4-5 miles, three days a week. I walk 4 miles 2-3 days per week and I do light strength training. I am giving some thought to doing Yoga for better flexibility and I enjoy Qi Gong.
I eat 1500-1800 calories per day.

Personal Information:
My name is Kerrie. I live in the midwest. I have been married for 22 years and have two children in college. I love gardening, reading and being outdoors.

Other Information:

Read More About KRICKETTWO - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 20)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 7.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (103):  123Next >Last >>