See this image larger
New Hair! Feeling Cute.

See this image larger
Nov 2014

See this image larger
My beautiful daughter and I on her wedding Day Aug 16, 2014

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Sewing Machine
go to goodies page
Welcome Mat

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with MRLDCTYGRL
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

**Not forever, but for a bit, I need a break. There's really nothing I can do to fix my diet and I'm not released to exercise. I'm now wearing a heart monitor and sleeping with a heart rate monitor with an alarm because the pain meds and the anxiety meds are causing my heartrate to drop dangerously in the middle of the night. I'm not finding the community support I was looking for here, because my issues aren't really related to the challenges of weight loss right now. I'll be back once I'm off the steroids, but it could be six months to a year. Take care in the meantime.**

I am starting over, AGAIN, from a point that has me scared to pieces. I started this conscious effort in the fall of 2010 10 lbs lighter than I am now. Started over in the fall of 2012 with a low carb plan that carved almost 70 lbs off of me. Gained 15 of it back in the mayhem leading up to my daughter's wedding this past August, and the very next day, I accidentally ate something that I am severely allergic to. I've been on oral steroids since, and I've gained almost 65 lbs in 5 months. I'm still on the steroids, my fibromyalgia is back with a vengeance, and I'm basically bedridden and battling a bad attitude. I'm actually very fortunate. My husband is absolutely committed to me and has secure employment with excellent benefits, so we have access to very good medical care.

In my home life, I have the aforementioned awesome husband, and my middle child (a daughter who is a 21 year old college student attending the U of W) living at home with us with six cats. My eldest daughter got married in August and took a cat and the dog with her, and my youngest son lives in Canada, where he's attending the University of Lethbridge.

Member Since: 10/8/2010

My Goals:
Get off the steroids!

Get pain under control!

Improve sleep quality!

Get my cholesterol under control without Rx meds. (This is turning around and continues to go well on the food plan!)

Manage the Hashimoto's Thyroiditis.

Lose 118 lbs.

Develop exercise regimen.

Surrender financial control (and anxiety!) to my hubby, and recognizing him for his effort when he's doing such a great job.

Help my whole family become healthier and lose weight.

My Program:
Keep carb intake under 30 grams/day NOT COUNTING carbs from "free veggies". (On hold for now)

Consume a minimum of 60 grams of protein a day.

Plan ALL meals AHEAD! (even mine!)

Keep healthy snacks on hand.

Eat an appropriate protein-based breakfast, or at least drink a shake.

Drink LOTS of water.

Personal Information:
Originally from Canuckistan, in Winterpeg Manisnowba. Spent 3 years in the Arctic (now THAT's some SNOW!), 10 years on Vancouver Island, 5 years in Calgary, and have been in WA state since 2004.

I'm a Christian and a storyteller and an administrative guru.

Other Information:
I am looking for community to enjoy here. I am looking for friends who will cry with me, give me a hug, cheer me on, and kick my butt. I'm willing to put in the time on my end to do the same for you.

Read More About MRLDCTYGRL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 20)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 284.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (66):  123Next >Last >>