100,000-149,999 SparkPoints 112,969
See this image larger
Me and my girls - March 2015

See this image larger
April 2016...still fighting the good fight!

See this image larger
After my first 5K

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
Woo Hoo!

OPALMOMMYFIRST is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Fitness Tracker
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Updated November 2019:

My name is Jamie and I am now 39 years old as of this recent update. In February 2009 I had my second and last child. While pregnant I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes which was a real wake up call. I started learning how to eat healthier and only gained 7 pounds my entire pregnancy.

After having Delilah it became my ultimate goal to lose weight and get healthier in time to celebrate my 30th birthday, which was on September 29, 2010. The way I reached my goal originally was by doing a TON of walking. In addition, I started doing Jillian Michaels' 30 Day Shred, as well as various other exercise DVDs (love the 10 Minute Solutions series!).

In addition to reaching my goal weight of 124 by my 30th birthday, I celebrated my 31st birthday by training for and running my first 5K! I completed the distance successfully on my 31st birthday and ran my first official "race" on October 9, 2011.

Unfortunately in January 2012 I injured my back which pretty much set me back on running for the rest of the decade. Despite this setback, I maintained my original weight loss for NINE years. I'd like to pat myself on the back but a year ago this month my dad fell, declined rapidly an ultimately passed away in July 2019. I also endured a major job reshuffling and the death of a pet. As a result, nine years of hard work was more or less erased in less than 12 months. I am now back up 30 pounds and what is worse is that my cholesterol is 251. I would like to lose the weight and avoid going on cholesterol meds. I do well in a community, so here I go again.

Member Since: 6/15/2009

Fitness Minutes: 185,257

My Goals:
Short term goals:

~ Keep eating healthier

~ Don't take the easy way out! When feasible, opt for stairs instead of elevator, walking instead of public transportation, homemade before pre-packaged!

~ Get down a ROUTINE!

~ Realize that strength training is NOT evil and start incorporating it into my life...again...for good!

Long-term goals:

~ Get weight redistributed.

~ Get down to 120 lbs (at least for a day! lol)

~ When back is healed, would love to start running again and train for a 10K this time!

~ Spread the Spark!!!!!

My Program:
~ TRACKING my food! Even if I go over my allotted calories (and I often do) it helps me to see what I am putting in my mouth, what my trigger foods are, etc.

~ I walk EVERYWHERE I can! And I am going crzy to lower my cholesterol.

Personal Information:
I am a 39 year old woman living in Staten Island, NY. I am happily married to my college sweetheart and we have 2 beautiful, spunky and active daughters: Rebecca (10/12/06) and Delilah (2/9/09).

I love hiking, seasonal activities, visiting museums and zoos, cooking, watching TV/movies, reading, going on the Internet, playing video games, listening to music and spending time with my family.

Other Information:
I am a teacher.

Read More About OPALMOMMYFIRST - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 153.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (168):  123Next >Last >>