See this image larger
June 2011

See this image larger

See this image larger
August 2011

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Thank You Note

Shared Food Tracker
Interact with PAULAMARIEF
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Did you visit me at BUSTER FITNESS on Facebook. I want my Spark friends around me there too!

A new road to an old goal. I've blogged about it, but for those who haven't read that, I always wanted to be a be a certified personal trainer and now I AM! I am studying to be a specialist in fitness nutrtion! So I'm really excited to say the least. I hope this will show anyone who thinks it's too late in their life to make a dream happen, that IT's NOT!

I took professional fitness photos in July 2011 and I'm anxious to share them as part of my web page as part of my journey to fitness. It will Busterfitness.Net and up and running soon!

My name is Paula, I'm 47, height 5' 4.5" and 120 lbs. My body is approximately 19% body fat and that is what I am focusing on now, lowering and maintaining my percentage in a healthy and realistic way. (stats as of July 2011).

My last steps backward were in November 2010 I was recovering from being hospitalization for bacterial menigitis. That makes you really appreciate life and health. Not fun waking up in ICU and being told I almost didn't make it. So as time goes by, I realize vanity is not the reason for me to eat healthy and exercise, my overall health is! 1/20/10.

My weight dropped from good to very low during that time When I started gaining the weight back because I wasn't exercising or eating healthy, I ended up my highest weight since after having my son about 133lbs. (pre-pregancy weight 120, 9 months pregnant 190) .

I had another reality check in in 2009. I started Spark in March of 2009 for the purpose of eating healthier and exercising regularly to lower my cholesterol. I had it taken 6 months prior and it was borderline high. I chose not to go on medication and trying to make natural changes first.

So after six months of cleaning up my diet and exercising I had optimal numbers with new bloodwork. I'm so happy. I gave up smoking at 40 had a beautiful son at 41 and want to be here to watch him grow up for many years.

Some info about me that may help others or help me if I can get helpful comments from you, I suffer from sever anxiety disorder which has also given me phobias. I have been through a lot of couneling for this. Some things that are part of other peoples every day lives, are still a very big challenge to me.

Another earier part of my past that I am very open about is my battle with my eating disorder. I welcome any questions or concerns anyone has about themselves or someone they know. Because of my eating disorder background I still have periods, though few, when I'm obsessing about the eating and exercising. I need to continue to maintain this healthy lifestyle, but I tend to be extreme and unrealistic. So I continue to look for some kind of compromise with my weight and health and not being a perfectionist.

Lastly, I was a mom-to-be that let eating during pregnancy get out of hand. I gained around 70 pounds. I found myself with a significant amount of weight to lose for the first time in my life at age 41. Those pounds are gone as well as my negative thinking.

I would love to add other supportive and motivation Sparkpeople to my Friends.

I am looking forward to coaching others in a career that I love.

Member Since: 3/28/2009

Fitness Minutes: 32,504

My Goals:
Get my PFT and SFN Certifications.

Lose 4% bodyfat.

Be able to touch my toes! Be more flexible.

My Program:
I eat a high protein, moderate carb, low healthy fat diet. I use the zig zag approch with my macros during the week. This is what works for me. Everyone is different and finds what works for them. Please share any tips you have! I am finally getting certified as a personal fitness trainer as well as a specialist in fitness nutrition. I feel that our nutrition is 80% of how we maintain good health and 20% is our physical exercise ;)
My stregth training is done in a 4 day splits and I do cardio 3 to 4 days a week for 45 minutes at a session.

Personal Information:
Buster Fitness (facebook)

Website in the works!

Jersey girl my whole life.

Hubby, one son, one Persian kitty and a new Havanese puppy!

Other Information:
I am a certified personal trainer. At the other end of the spectrum I am a recovering anorexic. Been through a lot of professional help and was hospitalized twice when in my 20's. I have been doing well for many years, but it's easy to get caught up in the weight loss and going too far. I have to constantly remind myself I am doing this for my health.

I stopped excersizing regularly when I became pregnant. Now 4 years later I have taken my life back with exercise an nutrition so far as to become a personal trainer and currently studying to be a fitness nutritionist. During my pregnancy I gained 70 pounds. I weighed 190. It was so hard to carry that extra weight I had never been heavier than 138 and that was with a year of building a lot of muscle with super heavy bodybuilding in my early 20's. I think for the first time I felt overeating was justified. I know it wasn't. I lost the first 50 quickly the last 20 took some work. I also smoked before I became pregnant a

Read More About PAULAMARIEF - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 115.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (691):  123Next >Last >>