RONLOVESJONI
1-99 SparkPoints 42
SparkPoints
 
Awards

 
Interact with RONLOVESJONI
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


THE LIFE AND TIMES OF RONALD SCHLAUCH

I was born in February 1947 on a cold, windy day in Washington D.C. I spent most of my growing-up years in Hyattsville, Maryland. During my teenage years my family had a beach cottage in Deale, Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay where we spent every summer. We had a 28 foot cabin cruiser named “Margaret Ann” (named after my mother) and spent most of our time on the water crabbing and fishing. To this day, the smell of Old Bay Seasoning brings back all those luscious memories of “Summers in the Sun”!

I graduated from Northwestern High School in 1965 and attended the University of Maryland in College Park. I started out in Pre-Med but ended up an English major.

In 1968, while the war in South Vietnam was raging, I got a draft notice to report to the Army in one month. I decided to enlist for 3 years and, at least, I would have a choice of what job to do in the military. Most draftees ended up in the infantry. I picked Generator Mechanic and after 3 months of classes, I got orders to go to Europe. In Frankfurt, Germany at the 21st Replacement Depot, I got orders to report to the 560th Signal Battalion in Vicenza, Italy. The next 2 and 1/2 years were really great! I bought a brand new 1968 VW bug for $978 and drove all over Europe. Vicenza was only 30 miles from Venice, so I went there almost every weekend. There were buildings in Vicenza that were built in the 1st century! On some of the old cobblestone backstreets you could still see the ruts from chariot wheels! I visited Rome, Naples, Munich for the Octoberfest, Paris, Cannes, Vienna and Innsbruck.

When I got out of the Army in 1971 I got a job at GEICO in Chevy Chase, Maryland. In 1972 I married and got accepted for an apprenticeship at the Bureau of Engraving and Printing in Washington D.C.. I really enjoyed printing money and postage stamps but after 2 years I developed an allergy to the chemicals in the ink and had to quit.

The next 15 years were a mix of having 3 children and working different jobs to try and make a living. I sold cars, insurance, and was a pest control technician for awhile. In the late 1980’s I got divorced and ended up moving to Florida with my son Brian. I got a job driving a fuel truck for Publix Supermarkets in Lakeland, Florida. I worked there until I had a heart attack and had to apply for disability. Several years later Brian started working in the radio broadcasting industry, and I moved in with my folks in Winter Haven to take care of them. The Florida Disability Commission payed my tuition to take a course in Massage Therapy and I got my license.

I got remarried in 2012 to a wonderful lady, who just lived two doors down from me. I thank God that I met Joni and I am really enjoying our life together! Our next goal is to really get involved in SPARKPEOPLE and get healthy and more active!


Member Since: 1/26/2016

My Goals:


My Program:



Personal Information:


Other Information:




Read More About RONLOVESJONI - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 26)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Blogs
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
Login to Leave Comment
Comments