See this image larger
Finishing the bike leg of my first tri!

See this image larger

See this image larger
IF YOU CAN RUN A MARATHON YOU CAN DO ANYTHING. Don't you forget it, damnit.

go to goodies page
Flower Pot
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving
go to goodies page
Flower Pot

TEAM-SARAH is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with TEAM-SARAH
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

About me - I'm 26 and I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, Jon. I've had some weightloss ups and downs. I still have a lot of troubles with my eating habits I am always fighting it! I owe so much of my success thus far to sparkpeoples wonderful resources and all the great people who have supported and encouraged me along the way!

My "journey" (Updated 03/01/11)

When I was growing up I definitely had a major chubby phase. My parents did not pass down good eating habits. Childhood was filled with too many McDonalds trips, sugary cereals, sodas, and a membership to the clean plate club.

Luckily my parents passed down athletics. My Mom was a college athlete (softball) and got her degree in Parks & Recreation. She was the Program Director at the YMCA before I was born and she and my Dad met playing co-ed volleyball. Both of them are kinda jack of all trades when it comes to sports... naturally athletic. So growing up I was always in AYSO (soccer) and YMCA basketball leagues and swimming lessons, etc etc. So that really just served to keep the problem from being worse than it very well should've been. Around the time I was 12 I was about done growing and I started to thin out. In junior high and high school, at about 5'10-5'11 I weighed around 165-175. I was an athletically built teenager at a healthy weight, I played sports nearly year-round.

Now I cant say my weight problems didnt start in high school... I got my first job when I was 16 as a waitress. I ate unhealthy there all the time, but my active lifestyle coupled with the fact that I was young kept me from doing much damage. After I started working, I dropped to just playing tennis. This meant that I was no longer year-round active. By my senior year, I was up to 185. By the time I started college, I had easily gained another 20 pounds.

Now we've all heard of the Freshman 15. I was already on a roll with my weight gain the lack of physical activity coupled with having to fend for myself nutritionally was an outright disaster. I didn't weigh myself much in college, but I got up to around 270 by my senior year. It's no surprise... I mean at least 1 meal a day nearly every single day was likely a drive thru meal or some delivery I ordered. Working at Pizza Hut sure didn't help.

Right before my final semester I got sick of constantly berating myself for letting it get this bad. I got sick of telling myself I was going to change and not changing. I got sick of feeling like crap and never wanting to go anywhere that I couldn't just wear oversized sweats and hoodies (so basically I didn't want to leave the house). It was like a switch went off. I threw out my bad food, went grocery shopping, called a friend to tell her my plan, and we went to the gym together the very next morning. I didn't look back, I didn't backslide for a good 4 months or so. I lost 60 pounds from mid January to May.

And ever since I've been in a cycle of up and down with my weight. I want to conquer this once and for all and I'll never give up. I hope some day I will achieve the harmony in my life that will make my success possible. I am realizing I have a lot more to work on mentally and emotionally than the diet and workouts. I need to spend more time on that so the rest can come naturally and I can get the weight off AND have it stay off instead of fluctuating between 190-230 pounds forever!!! NO MORE.

Member Since: 2/12/2008

Fitness Minutes: 20,593

My Goals:
- Be in shape AND look in shape!
-Thin thighs that can run in shorts!
-Eat healthy balanced meals every day!
-Do SOME kind of exercise almost every day, intense ones 3-4 times per week.
-Have my stomach stop getting in the way of my yoga!

My Program:
Olympic Triathlon Training:
Swim 2-3x/week
Bike 1x/week
Brick Workout 1x/week
Run 2x/week
Yoga 4x/week (2 classes, 2 restorative home sessions)
Resistance Train 2-3x/week

Personal Information:
I am 25 years old, 5'11, live in Austin, TX. I have a fantastic husband, the cutest cat ever and my main problem is that I rely on food for too much besides what it is.... fuel.

Other Information:

Read More About TEAM-SARAH - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 23)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (2009):  123Next >Last >>