WUMPASTAR

SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
Sept15



See this image larger
Me at my biggest (205 pounds) in 2008.



See this image larger
In my prom dress 7 years later... (and at least 35 pounds lighter)


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Flower Pot
From:
MISSUSRIVERRAT
go to goodies page
Pinwheel
From:
ISABELLE84
go to goodies page
Two Thumbs Up
From:
MISSUSRIVERRAT
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with WUMPASTAR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm Joannie! 26, from Quebec (Canada), living in Saskatchewan since February 2015. Buddhist with a plant-based diet. I work a desk job as a legal assistant and I thrive for a simple life. I'm extremely interested in other people's journeys, so feel free to add me, I love new friends!

My weight loss isn't spectacular, drastic, or even impressive. I believe in slow, steady change. Like... WAAAAAAAAAAY slow. I believe in creating lifelong habits that make me feel better. I believe in using the right vocabulary - I'm never starving, I'm just hungry or very hungry; I don't indulge or cheat, I just eat whatever I want. I haven't really lost weight in over two years now and I don't really care. I am, however, healthier, stronger, more confident, more positive and more energetic than two years ago. I put my focus on that instead of the scale or the tags on my clothes.

I apply simplicity in every aspect of my life, and that includes health, fitness and nutrition. I've had a plant-based diet for over five years now for ethical and religious reasons, but you'll never hear me boast about it - and surely not shame others with it! I really like lifting weights at the gym, and I dream of having my own simple home gym once I have my own house. I also enjoy running short distances, doing yoga (check out doyogawithme.com for awesome free lessons!) and walking. You can also catch me biking around in the Summer and snowshoeing in the Winter. Truly Canadian! I'm an outdoors creature, sun, rain, snow or wind, I'm always up for an adventure! I'd totally go hiking if we had any mountains in Saskatchewan... lol! (Flatlands hiking isn't as fun, trust me. Does it even qualify? What about a walk in the slough?)

I'm an aspiring large-scale grain farmer. Yup, you read that right! In my free time, outside of moving my bodies in ways I enjoy (dancing alone in my living room counts), I enjoy reading and writing, meditating, cooking and having meaningful, enjoyable discussions. Even better with strangers! So, hey, add me.


Member Since: 4/15/2012

Fitness Minutes: 44,878

My Goals:
Being healthy.
Yeah, I don't believe in goals very much.


My Program:
Following Georgie Fear's "Lean Habits" to develop a lifelong, healthy eating life.
Working out at least 10 minutes every day; going to the gym, running, walking, yoga. Doing stuff that I like and makes me feel good.



Personal Information:


Other Information:




Read More About WUMPASTAR - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 13)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 7.8 
0
2.85
5.7
8.55
11.4
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v MISSUSRIVERRAT
    Me again. I am also interested in simplifying as a general practice so I kind of observe how others do things.
    I like the idea of unique concepts that work.
    Just wanted to share a couple other ideas. This summer I went to a county fair to see grandkids show their animals. Granddaughter showed her cat. The judge was an elderly lady who is a cat expert. Yes, a bonafide cat lady.
    She wears only purple. Everything! I thought...how wonderful that she is being her own unique self. Cats and purple are her thing!

    Personally, I like the concept of a "uniform". I have a casual lifestyle in a small community. I wear some kind of pajama jeans every day ...they are super comfie and look like regular jeans.. I can do everything in them, look appropriate for work one moment, exercise the next.
    I change the top for what fits with the occasion and try to make a uniform out of my tops. (I don't sleep in the pajama jeans though !) My work top is something with the fire department logo on it. My casual top is a Genie Bra in MIlani style (a supportive, flattering sports bra covered with lace) underneath a Hanes wrap top (The bra intentionally peeks out of the V in the wrap top and I think looks kind of feminine). They come in all different colors which I can vary according to my mood of the day. I can exercise in this outfit, go out to the bar/to eat, go to shop.

    I also wear tops that support the various sport teams on "game day." When attending grandkids sporting events, I try to wear a top that is their team or school color. People actually notice this and appreciate it.
    1981 days ago

    Comment edited on: 1/16/2016 7:37:37 AM
  • v MISSUSRIVERRAT
    I had another idea about your food list. You could change it seasonally to incorporate the foods in season and the "mood' of the season. For me that would be a list redo for the season coming up
    in September,December, March, and June. I am in Illinois, so obviously I am coinciding with my Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer.
    You are farther north....maybe you would be a little different.
    Obviously the plan would vary depending on climate, location, etc.


    1982 days ago
  • v ALP1976
    Ok my phone limits how much I can type lol - I think I'm going to skip habit 4 (as georgie recommended) and just move onto habit 5.
    2038 days ago
  • v ALP1976
    My 2 cents - I'd go back to any habit you're less than 80% on. For me, I went back to habit 1 and I should be back up to 80 on that on in a couple of days then I'll add 2 and get to 80 on that one then I'll go through habit 3
    2038 days ago
  • v LARTOON
    Hi Wumpastar!
    I sent you a message in your inbox. Hope to hear from you soon and grats on your goals!

    emoticon
    2089 days ago
Member Comments (202):  << First< Previous23456Next >Last >>